Home > App Review > App Talk: Locale

App Talk: Locale

October 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today I will review the app: Locale

Locale is an app that allows you to set the way your phone responds under certain Situations. On my Hero, I have situations such as Low Battery. When my battery level hits 30%, Locale will kick in and set brightness to lowest so as to preserve battery life. Another situation is Update Feeds. Locale integrates with NewsRob hence I am able to set Locale to get Hero to connect to the wi-fi in my office and start download feeds from 4pm – 5pm so that I can read my feeds once I knock off at 6pm. Last but not least, I have a Sleep situation where my phone will be on silent mode from 1am – 8am. Volume will reverted to the last setting so that I get uninterrupted sleep.

You add situations in Locale easily, and there are a few default conditions and settings available for you to tweak. I am hoping that there will be more functions to tweak and more apps to be integrated into Locale but for now, it gets things done. You can do things like setting Locale to detect your location and setting a condition (e.g. silent mode when you reach office) so that you won’t have to worry about it.

The best thing is Locale is free so go ahead, try it and let me know if it’s good for you!

* Images from Cryket

Locale in Cryket

Categories: App Review Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

