Home > Android, App Review > Local Apps from local Heroes

Local Apps from local Heroes

December 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Merry Christmas from GirlmeetsAndroid! I’ve been clearing pre-holiday work and enjoying the long weekend. Now I’m back to post on the Android. This post will be all about Singapore apps from the local developers since I’m based here. Seems like there’s not a lot of exposure to local apps so I just want to give them some exposure.

SBS Buses

(Free app, requires data connection)

This app tells you the arrival times of buses and allows you to send sms to Iris for their service arrival times. A must have for me since I commute to work by bus. 99% accurate based on my experience with it. However, it does not support SMRT buses.

Cab@SG

(Free app, no data connection required)

1 app to call them all! Cab@SG lists numbers of various cab companies and dials it for you when selected. Very handy as an all-in-one-place number directory if you don’t want to remember or store it within your phone contacts.

BBOM Usage Query

(Free app, requires data connection)

This is for Singtel users mostly. A tiny app to track your usage. After monitoring on your data counter, you can double check with this app.

ShowNearby Pathfinder

(Free app, requires data connection)

This app doesn’t not need much introduction. This app finds the nearest places of interest to your location and shows you on Google Maps. Similar to buUuk and since I did not read good reviews on Market for buUuk, I chose to review this instead.

Hope you enjoy this post as much as I had writing it.

Categories: Android, App Review
  1. Michael How
    January 6, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Nice! I have been using ShowNearby ever since they launched this product! I can’t say much about the website, cause its been under construction for very long now. But their mobile stuff is cool shit!

    Keep up the reviews! I have a love hate relationship with the BBOM, its not exactly always accurate. haha!

    • Tingopop
      January 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      Thank you Michael! Your kind words will spur me on with more quality posts that I hope you enjoy.

      I don’t really use ShowNearby yet but I found it to be a fun app, esp useful with the ATM function. As for BBOM, I generally have a 50mb buffer to make sure I don’t exceed usage.

  2. January 12, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Nice work on the App showcase here, I love the SG Buses app it really helps me apply “Just in Time” to my routes. Now I kind of plan where I can get off so that I can hop on to the next bus and get back in the shortest possible time.

    Try out 3G watchdog, quite good, at least for me.

    • Tingopop
      January 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Thank you. I have more to come. Ah I see! I don’t need to change bus but it’s helpful for me to see if I should leisurely stroll to the bus stop or start to run there.

      I spoke about 3G Watchdog on my Should-have Apps post and not this post since it’s a Made in Singapore app post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

