Home > App Review > App Talk: Quick Settings

App Talk: Quick Settings

If you’re sick of going into layers and layers of navigation just to turn on your data, or just had enough of using 4 different apps to control 4 different settings, Quick Settings is for you.

Quick Settings is the swiss knife equivalent in terms of apps to do with settings. It allows users to quickly toggle between a list of settings with less than 2 swipes once set up. Let’s take an in-depth look.

Main screen of Quick Settings

Main screen shows you a list of settings that you commonly access, and the list is fully customizable even down to the ordering of settings.

Accessing Quick Settings

I’ve chosen to place Quick Settings into my status bar, allowing me to access the program by simply pulling down the menu shade. This saves me a lot of swipes just to go into the Settings pane of the phone.

Customizing Quick Settings

As you can see, Quick Settings allows you to re-order the list and to remove/add what is relevant to you. The settings included are the most common ones. The Mobile Data setting has replaced my APNDroid app, which was previously used to toggle mobile data on/off.

It also gives me the option to hide the icon on my status bar, with 3 other options on how you’ll like to toggle the app.

In my opinion this is a light-weight and well thought out app, one that should not be missed if you are on the look out for a capable app to toggle settings.

Questions for the user? Have a better app to recommend? State your thoughts in the comments box below!

P.S: I’m sorry for my erratic posting schedule as well as the absence of my paid hosting site. I’ve had some major shift in my work responsibilities and the dust has just settled, allowing me some time to work on GirlMeetsAndroid. I am working towards getting the site up and cleaning up all my posts to enjoy a brand new start there. Do continue to check back here, and please do drop a comment to say Hello! 🙂

Categories: App Review Tags:
  1. taz
    March 10, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Thx for the recommendation!
    this is what i been looking for my nexus
    btw, i had apndroid installed & i installed quick settings
    the enable/disable from both app seems to hv screw up my apn.
    no big deal, uninstall both apps & ensure my apn is correct (remove any [disable] in the apn settings) & internet working fine then i installed quick settings <- WORKS LIKE A CHARM!

    • Ting
      March 11, 2010 at 10:56 pm

      I’m glad the app has helped you! 🙂

      Will continue to try more apps and review them for everyone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

